Hey God. It’s me….

Hey, God, it’s me – Lou Ann. I have some questions for you.

First of all, have you been on leave, or something? Things here feel as though they are fraying. I think all of us who consider you our BFF would like to ask you, “What the….are you thinking?”

I have other questions too. Like: What do we do now? How do we move forward? Especially when to so many of us this feels like backwards. Do we turn the other cheek? Should we just retreat into our belief that everything will be okay; that we can weather this storm too?  Anyone remember Katrina? Or Moses? Or Noah? Shit happens.

And we could be in some deep doo doo, God. Our freedom of speech and freedom of the press are under attack, and the First Amendment is what makes us America. Our civil rights, women’s productive heath, immigration, health insurance for many of us, LGBT rights, so much is looking as though it will soon be in the “loss” column…. Then there is our environment and our majestic National Parks. As part of the soon to be reigning party’s platform, National Parks may be returned to the states, thereby opening them up for drilling and mining, subdivisions, you name it. It would mean the end of Roosevelt’s vision of maintaining some of our most beautiful and historic lands for generations yet to come to experience. God, the list goes on and on of the things that may be now limited or removed.

In addition, there is so much hatred, cruelty, misunderstanding and groups of people trying to control and deny other groups their rights…. What are we suppose to do?

How do you feel when you see cruelty?

 Like I want to punch the person who is being cruel!

 Okay. But once you work through some of that knee jerk, or just jerk, anger, what do you really want?

 I want kindness. I want people to be kind.

 That’s right! When you experience or see cruelty, you most want kindness. When you experience or see injustice, you most want justice. When you experience or see lack, you most want prosperity. When you experience or see hate, you most want love.  So offer those things. Be those things. Be more of what you want and less of what you don’t.

The majority of you now feel as though your voice was not heard and now you know what the minority of you have been feeling. Not so good, huh? So, work together. All of this can bring you together.

It feels more as though it is splitting us apart.

You are splitting apart, but those cracks are how I’m getting in. That’s where you’ll find me. I am in the divisions as well as the unifications. I am on both sides and when you can see me in Them as well as You, we’ll be getting somewhere. 

We seem a long way from being able to do that. I think you’re asking a lot of us.

Sorry. It’s all I could come up with to get your attention.   It’s difficult to get through to you all when you spend so much time staring at your phones doing all that twittering and chatting. You all are an odd and stubborn lot, you know. It’s not easy being your Supreme Being. You’re a handful!

Well, you made us in your image.

Indeed. I now see I should have thought that one through a little more.

There’s just so much so many of us are afraid of and I don’t know if we can hold on while we keep moving forward a little, or at least find middle ground.

That last one is important. And each one of you isn’t expected to do it all. Pick that which is yours to do. You’ll know. But everyone needs to do something. That’s the coming together part. Work together. You all really want the same things – to be safe, to be happy, to be able to explore and experience your own life. Remind each other of that.

But when we feel we are being called, do we stand up, speak out, put ourselves on the line? There is so much at stake that I’m not sure which direction to move. Which issue, which challenge, which decision do I protest, speak up about, move to do whatever I can to bring attention or positive energy to?

Always speak your truth. Always be true to who you are and be willing to stake your claim…just also be willing to move your stake. Everything is true for someone and everything is false to another. Meet in the middle, but don’t be afraid to stand on the edge when you feel that is your place to be.  I do understand, though. I mean, even I am at a loss sometimes when I see what you have done. What were you people thinking?

That’s what I keep asking myself. I have no answer. Mostly we weren’t paying attention. This has been coming for some time, but we didn’t think it would go this far this fast. We went to bed in one America and woke up in another. It was shocking and is still terrifying. So much so that I can’t really understand how ANYONE doesn’t feel the same. But, apparently, many don’t.

But more of you do. Look at the numbers! Take heart in that. The big hearts won.

No, we lost.

You lost the prize, but you have more resolve than before. You are building more organization. You are becoming more clear, more focused. As are those you see as “other”. Don’t forget to listen to them too. I mean, you got yourself into this mess largely because both sides started “updating” and “tweeting” and forgot to talk and listen. Go to what you have in common – that safe, happy, love, life place.

I don’t want to. I don’t want to sing Kumbaya and fart rainbows. Not yet. I feel the need to be pissed.

Then be pissed. Be the best pissed you can be. Then roll up your sleeves, open your heart and do what’s next.

Hey, while I have you on the line, God. I have another question. Cellulite. What’s that about?

I have to get back to you on that. Seems as though there’s a commotion at the front gate.  Some people are there claiming there is only one way to God, which is their way, and they are also insisting that God is white. You all crack me up!! Why don’t you get that any way to God is the way to God and that I am ALL of you. Everyone figures that out once they get here, but why wait until then? I think I’ll go to the gate as a brown skinned, middle-eastern, WOMAN! Can’t wait to see their faces!

Okay. Thanks. Talk to you soon, God.

I think we’ll be in touch a lot through the next few years! Good luck. Oh, and don’t forget about having fun too! Now, where did I put my hijab?

About louannthomas

Speaker & writer
This entry was posted in As I see it and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Hey God. It’s me….

  1. Deena Burnett says:

    Absolutely Spot ON! Love you Sister!

    Like

  2. Crystal Leaman says:

    Brilliant analysis and presentation!!!

    Like

  3. Kenneth Harder says:

    Just what I needed to hear. You have my undying gratitude for sharing this.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Leslie says:

    I love this Lou Ann!

    Like

  5. Grorgia says:

    What good questions you asked God.
    And the answers you got were spot
    on! Thank you for being open to the answers.

    Like

Leave a Reply

